Skip to content

Adventure Travel

June 4, 2013

I really only began to understand how adventurous our trip was going to be when I read an email from our “handler” in Tuva last week.  Here are some excerpts:

“Tuvan meals are heavily meat and carbohydrate based…In addition, some may find Tuvan food completely unpalateable.  I know I did when I first came here.”

“Tuva is a rough place and even in Kyzyl, health facilities are limited in their ability to respond to, diagnose, and treat major medical issues and emergencies.”

“In addition, since you will travel to rural areas in Tuva, please confer with your local health care provider and be sure you have been properly vaccinated for diseases spread through ticks in this area of the world.”

Okay!  So today I am going to get 3 shots.  Hepatitus A and B and Yellow Fever.  A special thank you also goes out to my friend who gave me a great field medical kit fit for a medic and prescriptions for everything I might need while I am there.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

